Pocket Politics

Life without pockets is HARD, and that is just one way that women have been discriminated against across centuries. I have lived pocketless over large stretches of my life, conforming to fashion.

No more. Now that I spend my days in front of a computer and rarely see people except on Skype, I have spent this winter with all of my soft, fuzzy sweaters tucked away in a drawer because… wait for it… they have no pockets.

So, I’ve spent this winter wearing short-sleeved T-shirts and fleece jackets that have lovely deep pockets for cell phone, Kleenex, and anything else I might need to cart around. Not sure what I’m going to do when summer temperatures hit…

This fascinating video clip gives you a history of the pocket, the difference between men’s and women’s pockets, and how women are finally coming into their own as far as pockets are concerned.

 

Women in History: Alma Mahler

Alma Mahler was one of the most interesting women in late 19th/early 20th century Vienna. Her (male) contemporaries also found her fascinating, and an astounding number of creative men fell victim to her charms—painter Gustav Klimt, composer Gustav Mahler, architect Walter Gropius, artist Oskar Kokoschka, and writer Franz Werfel are just some of them.

While she wielded a good deal of power over her men, she was not always free from pressure from them. As a young woman, she studied music and counterpoint and had begun to compose art songs when she married Gustav Mahler, who made her promise to give up composing music. He didn’t want his wife to be his competitor.

I’ve always wondered how her life would have been different if she had told him to take a hike and kept on with her creative pursuit instead of becoming involved with one creative man after another.

 

Read ‘Surrender the Heart’ for $1.99

Surrender the Heart, book 5 in the Fearless Women Historical Romance Series, is on sale for $1.99 for a limited time. Save 60% on this Victorian-period historical saga set in Paris.

Great for fans of Sabrina Jeffries and Christi Caldwell. A historical with plenty of local color, schemes, and heated—very heated—complications.

Amazon | Apple Books | Kobo | Nook | Smashwords

Two gamblers make a wager. Neither realizes they are gambling with their hearts.

Ariane de Valmont prizes her independence above all else, and to secure it, she’s willing to enter into a risky alliance with a wickedly attractive American.

Chris Blanchard has reluctantly traveled to Paris to fulfill a deathbed promise to his father. An intriguing challenge by Ariane promises to provide a beguiling diversion—a bet he’s sure to win, given his impeccable seduction skills.

Both get far more than they bargained for.

*****

Surrender the Heart is the fifth book in the Fearless Women Historical Romance Series by best-selling author Nina Beaumont.

Gutsy heroines and dashing heroes. Love, passion, and sensuality. Intrigue, rebellion, and revolution. A thrilling journey through 19th century Europe, packed with vivid, true-to-life historical detail.

Read all of the books in the Fearless Women Historical Romance Series. Each can be enjoyed as a standalone romantic adventure.

Sapphire Magic
Promises to Keep
Tapestry of Fate
Tapestry of Dreams
Surrender the Heart

GET YOUR COPY TODAY!

Amazon | Apple Books | Kobo | Nook | Smashwords